Drinking water lead removal using orthophosphate

 

Group in May 2019
(from left) Weiyi, Anshuman, Neha, Dan, Yeunook, Yeunook's father, Guiwei, Anushka, Lia

ACL Spring Conference (Orlando) in April 2019
(from left) Anshuman, Weiyi, Wei, Mainak (guest), Yin, Dan, Jose, Yandi (guest), Yeunook, Anushka, Neha

ACL Alumni

ACL Album

Principal Investigator

Daniel Giammar

Ph.D., P.E.

ph: 314-935-6849
fax: 314-935-7211
Email: giammar@wustl.edu

Curriculum Vita

Walter E. Browne Professor of Environmental Engineering

Adjunct Professor in Earth and Planetary Sciences

Associate Edtior, Environ. Sci. Technol.

Ph.D. Environmental Engineering Science, California Institute of Technology, 2001

M.S. Environmental Engineering Science, California Institute of Technology, 1998

B.S. Civil Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, 1996

 

Ph.D. Students

Yeunook Bae

Project: Lead Immobilization from Lead Pipes; Selenium Removal from Flue Gas Desulfurization Wastewaters; Carbon sequestration in fractured basalts

B.Eng., M.S., Hanyang University, 2007, 2009

M.S.E. Johns Hopkins University, 2014

Email:  yeunook.bae@wustl.edu

Anshuman Satpathy

Project: Uranium adsorption modeling and redox-driven UO2 recrystallization

M.S., Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur

Email: anshuman@wustl.edu

 

Anushka Mishrra

Project: Lead Corrosion Control with Sodium Silicates in Lead Pipes

B.T., National Institute of Technology, Trichy, 2017

Email: anushka@wustl.edu

 

Weiyi Pan

Project: Interactions among Lead, Free Chlorine, and Manganese Species

McDonnell Academy Fellow

B.E., China University of Mining and Technology (Beijing), 2014

M.S., Peking University, 2017

Email: weiyipan@wustl.edu

Neha Sharma

Project:  Trace Metal Dynamics and Limitations on Biogeochemical Cycling in Wetland Soils and Hyporheic Zones

McDonnell Academy Fellow

B.Eng., PEC University of Technology, Chandigarh, 2013
M.S. Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, 2016

Email: neha.sharma@wustl.edu

   

 

Undergraduate & Master Student Researchers

Violla Liu

Project: Drinking water lead removal using orthophosphate (Working with Yeunook)

Senior at WashU

Email: zliu40@wustl.edu

 

Lia Schattner

Project: Drinking water lead removal using orthophosphate (Working with Yeunook)

Junior at WashU

Email: lschattner@wustl.edu

Ziqi Wang

Project: Lead Corrosion Control with Sodium Silicates in Lead Pipes (working with Anushka)

B.E., Nankai University, China, 2018

Jake Muilenburg

Project: Trace Metal Dynamics and Limitations on Biogeochemical Cycling in Wetland Soils and Hyporheic Zones (working with Neha)

Sophomore at WashU

Email: jmuilenburg@wustl.edu


Elizabeth Johnson

Project: New method for evaluation of exposure to lead from drinking water (Working with Weiyi)

Junior at WashU

Email: erjohnson@wustl.edu


Visiting Students & Scholars


Guiwei Li

Project: Aluminum accumulation in lead pipe scales

B.Eng., China University of Mining and Technology, 2015

PhD candidate, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, CAS, since 2015

Email: ligw2012@hotmail.com

Kyle J. Chardi

Project: Fate of tetravalent uranium under reducing conditions

PhD candidate, University of Vienna

M.E.,  University of Florida

Email: kyle.chardi@univie.ac.at